Skip to content

Schedule of Speakers

Spring 2016

Interested in speaking or know someone you would like to recommend? Please contact Mark Littmann, Program Chair, by email or call 865-974-8156.

Date Speaker
Friday, February 19 Sleep: Neuroscience, Medicine, and Society

Dr. Ralph Lydic, Cole Professor of Neuroscience, Departments of Psychology & Anesthesiology

Friday, February 26 Examining Factors of Pollinator Decline: Progress and Future Directions

Dr. John Skinner, Professor of Entomology & Plant Pathology

Friday, March 4 A Tale of TDEC Enforcement

Renee Hoyos, Executive Director, Tennessee Clean Water Network

Friday, March 11 No Meeting
Friday, March 18 No Meeting
Friday, March 25 No Meeting
Friday, April 1 Discoveries at Pluto: A First Look into the Outer Solar System

Chad Melton, Senior, Earth & Planetary Sciences

Friday, April 8 Why New Cancer Drugs Cost So Much But Do So Little

Dr. J. Aubrey Waddell, Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, UT, and Oncology Pharmacist, Blount Memorial Hospital

Friday, April 15 Lifesaving Robotic Tentacles

Dr. Caleb Rucker, Assistant Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace, & Biomedical Engineering

Friday, April 22 Dr. Devon Burr, Associate Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences

Title of talk to be announced

Friday, April 29 The Last Billion Years, A Geologic History of Tennessee

Dr. Don W. Byerly, Professor Emeritus of Earth and Planetary Sciences

To see a list of speakers from the past, visit the Previous Speakers page.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.